Questions about getting into Inspection

Hey guys, I will try to keep this short, (Or as short as I can). I have for some time now been dabbling in a few different professions. As you can see, I am part of the “peter-pan” generation or better known as the early Gen Y (Born 1984). I graduated with a degree in Public Administration and Urban planning, with the hopes of work in Planning/Zoning/Regulations for a municipality.

Granted I graduated in 2008, which was the worst year by far to have graduated, I could not have acquired a job in my field for a long time. Me being as stubborn to stay the course for 3 years and to look for a job with my qualifications I came up empty handed due to an infinite amount of organizations facing sever budget cuts.

Never the less I ended up in IT, which I had a knack for since I was a child, but I still feel as if I am missing something. I have always had an interest in Architecture, landscape architecture, planning and urban development. I have always loved building designs, even though I am not a designer by nature, I still have a unique understanding in how things are built and sustained.

To wrap up my description and jump to my questions, I have had an interest in the field of inspection and surveying for sometime. I also looked into becoming a property appraiser, but appraisers got hit big time with a butt load of regulatory mandates and forcing them to comply with AMC’s, which have thrown a large people out of the profession. Because of this, I gotta know a few things before I try to dabble into this profession, Inspections. And here are the questions as they follow:

1.) Big question, if I were to pursue a career in inspection, ‘why oh why’ does it look like there are more inspectors in the state of Florida than there is in total of the rest of the country? I mean, I look at your forums, and the majority of threads created are from Florida… this in its self is insane!?!

2.) Is there a need for inspectors in Florida?