Ride along

Anyone in a reasonable driving distance of the Tampa area, or in Tampa, interested in letting me tag along on an inspection or two this Monday the 20th?

I’m looking to get into the business someday, and would like to shadow someone who does this for a living.

Thanks,
Bill.

What do you do now and why are you considering becoming a home inspector?

Come on now Mike, Home Inspectors are needed in Fla.
Not enough to meet demand.

Yeah… we only have around 8700 and something. But only 76 CMI’s at last check :slight_smile:

I build homes for a living. I have worked as a superintendent building single family and town homes for 9 years.

I want to run my own business (and yes, I know first hand that is no where near as easy as it sounds to laypeople) and want to do something that will draw on my knowledge base and strengths. Home inspecting is something I do every day, just one phase at a time over the course of several months, on 15-30 homes at any given time. I am great at working with customers, realtors and sales people, and tradesmen* (*the term “tradesman” is used very loosely). :wink:

I have completed InterNACHI’s 120 course (which actually has helped me in my day job) and am pretty close to obtaining my state HI license. I also hold a certified building contractor license, but haven’t done anything with that. I’d like to slowly but steadily build a business that eventually will lead to a full time career.