Estimating The Age Of Asphalt Shingles?

I am a home inspector for about two years now in the Saint Louis area.

One thing I have had a very difficult time with while trying to constantly become a better inspector is estimating the age of the roof shingles, and it seems to be one of the most common questions I get.

I can obviously tell when shingles are at or near the end of their useful life and I can also tell when they are less than six months old or so but everywhere in the middle is very hard for me to be sure and I often try to guess if my client really wants to know (while also notifying them that I can in no way be certain) but I don’t want to have to guess at all.

How confident are some of you at estimating the shingle age and how do you do it and how do you express that to your client?

Some good info right here:

Hope it helps.

I tell them no more than you might have 2 or 5 ect years left.

You can check permits in many cities but at best we guess.
I have seen 20 year old roofs that look good and 8 year old roofs that are failing.

I personally would not say much beyond whether its in decent shape or not.

Exceptions are the roofs that even most homeowners would question.

I tend to agree with Paul.

There are so many factors… how many layers of shingles, exposure to sun, quality of shingles purchased, etc.

I just shingled my home last summer, and put on architectural shingles with a lifetime rating (actually I think the lifetime are the discontinued 40 year shingles).

But I would expect them to last much longer than a 20 year 3 tab shingle. But too many factors.

You can use a general time frame if you like:

Shingles appeared to be near beginning of life. (or you could say first half)

Shingles appeared to be at the midpoint of its useful life. (this is hard to tell exactly as shingles will remain somewhat unchanged for long periods of time)