Ice Dam - Colorado

As some of you know, I am an Electrician by trade so now I turn back to you guys with more experience to help in an area i’m less familiar with… Roofing.

So I just finished my roof inspection and ventilation classes and I am reviewing notes and my past experiences… Here is an issue I have at my house.

We live in Northern Colorado (Windsor) and had hail damage when the Tornado came through some years ago. Roof got replaced all new.

Now ever since then we have had an issue with ice damming in one area of the roof. It is a split level master bedroom north side we get condensation in the room due to ice damming.

Keep in mind the house was built in 1999 we moved in in 2000 and the roof was replaced in 2008. We never before the replacement had issues.

The roofing company has come back several times to investigate and keeps telling me it’s not their concern. In order to mitigate the issue (being an electrician) I heat traced the gutter so an ice dam cannot form.

However after reading and learning from all of you and the classes I am seeing that typically ice dams are formed due to poor ventilation of the attic.

The question… what should I look for in order to identify the source of the issue based on the fact that pre-new roof I had no issues and post- new roof I have had issues every year?

Any ideas you may have would be helpful and a good learning opportunity for me…

Look for areas of insulation missing or displaced, ventilation which is now poor for various reasons(failed baffles, insulation blocking it, ridge vent clogged, etc.), vents pumping warm air into the attic or can lights recently added which are increasing heat in the area.

Condensation in the room is usually due to missing insulation, which could also be warming the roof in this area through heat loss and leading to premature melt-off and ice damming.

Is this a cathedral ceiling or does it have an accessible attic above?