notes before writing on computer during inspection

These message board pages are now for archival purposes only. Please visit https://www.nachi.org/forum/ for our most recent forum discussions.

notes before writing on computer during inspection

AuthorMessage
Peter Siposs
NACHI Member: No
(as of 3/25/07)
Inactive Poster
Posted: Sep 26, 2005 3:47 PM       Post Subject:

Please Note: This user is a non-member guest and is in no way affiliated with NACHI.
I'm new to the inspection world and am wondering what people use or do to take notes before writing them in the computer. Something with memory joggers to check for this and that etc. What do you guys do?
Other than taking the Notebook everywhere with me what do I use?
Michael Boyett

Capital City Inspections
NACHI Member: Yes
(as of 3/25/07)
NACHI Member
User: mboyett
Posted: Sep 26, 2005 3:55 PM       Post Subject:
First of all, Welcome to the NACHI bulletin board. Good to have you on board.

For my first 20 or so inspections I used a hard copy printout with memory joggers. After getting very comfortable with the process I went to just a simple blank printout of my inspection report software and make handwritten notes that I transcribe onto my computer after I get back to the office. Let me know if you would like a copy of the memory jogger version. Unfortunately I only have it in pdf format.

--
Mike Boyett
Capital City Inspections
Austin, Tx
www.capcityinspections.com

Peter Ehrenpreis

PKE Home Inspections
(as of 3/25/07)
NACHI Member
User: pehrenpreis
Posted: Sep 26, 2005 4:03 PM       Post Subject:
Michael,

This is a question that I was also "thinking" about.

I know you made the offer of sending the "other" Peter icon_biggrin.gif a copy of your "memory jogger" but could you send one to me too?

Thanks,

Peter
Michael Boyett

Capital City Inspections
(as of 3/25/07)
NACHI Member
User: mboyett
Posted: Sep 26, 2005 4:12 PM       Post Subject: