Roof struncture

Originally Posted By: cnounnan
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

http://www.nachi.org/bbsystem/usrimages/H/Hoot_Gibson_0481.jpg ]

[ Image: http://www.nachi.org/bbsystem/usrimages/H/Hoot_Gibson_047.jpg ]

Originally Posted By: jlybolt

Are you asking about collar braces?

Did this roof not have any purlins? Knee walls? Any kind of support for the rafters? By looking at the picture it would seem it would need some.

Just my 2 cents

None of the above.

Originally Posted By: ccoombs

The ceiling joist can be used as collar ties. I’m not very good with conventionally framed roofs, but I do know that you can use ceiling joist in lieu of collar ties or purlins and kickers.

For your area I wouldn't expect a snow load. I would guess that the roofing is comp. shingles. However, a side note is that comp. roof should have the same loading as a typical tile because you need to assume three layers of roofing material.

The roof rafters and sheathing look new. I would ask if a permit was pulled. I don't see anything wrong with what is there.

--
Curtis

Originally Posted By: chorne

the concern would be based on the length of the building and

the length of the rafters.

Much appreciated.

Originally Posted By: jlybolt

I agree with Carla.

You would need to look at rafter span tables to determine the max. unsupported distance the rafter can run. Snow load would also influence this. Were not designers, so if you have concerns I would list it as need further evaluation or look at roof plan if available.

Just me 2 cents

Originally Posted By: jnosworthy

Chad,