Acceptable lateral support for ceiling joists?

Hello all,

I’m having a house built in Spring, TX and I hired an inspector to come through and make sure everything was on the up and up.

One of the first things he noticed was inadequate lateral support for the ceiling joists in the garage. Picture below.

I took this to my builder and asked that he install the bridging my inspector recommended. My builder said to me that he’s going to install a “strong back” on top of the joists in the center of the garage according to R802.8.1 (I’m no expert, but I can’t see any reference made to such a feature when I looked up the code). I went back to my inspector and reported what my builder said, who replied that a strong back isn’t a substitute for bridging.

What is correct? Is a strong back or “rat run” adequate for lateral support? I appreciate your input.

R802.8.1 Bridging. Rafters and ceiling joists having a depthto-
thickness ratio exceeding 6 to 1 based on nominal dimensions
shall be supported laterally by solid blocking, diagonal
bridging (wood or metal) or a continuous 1-inch by 3-inch
(25 mm by 76 mm) wood strip nailed across the rafters or
ceiling joists at intervals not exceeding 8 feet (2438 mm).

I do a lot of phase inspections in Greater Houston area. I rarely see blocking anymore. What the builders typically do is place a 2x4 on its wider size, on top of the joists and a 2x6 on its thinner side butted up against the 2x4, which creates the “strongback”

Bridging for sure. Solid or diagonal. Not talking about code just quality. 8’0 oc min.

Those joist are too big for a normal garage roof rafter. Is this a extra wide garage or do you plan to use the attic area as a room?

Those are very common around here. Typical for a 2 car garage (which is the norm here). No room upstairs, just empty space.