Hello and looking for information on becoming an inspector in Texas

Hello,
I am new here and wanted to say “Hello!”. I also wanted to get some opinions.

I am thinking about changing careers. I’m currently employed as an Network Administrator for a company I’ve worked at for 14 years. Our company has a new President and there are good odds that my bosses boss and my boss may get fired. On top of that I might get let go at some point. It’s the whole “New President shake up” that happens in a corporate office every time executives change.

Anyway, I’m burnt out in my career and thought about doing something different. I’ve got some building background although not a ton (mostly framing) and have always been interested in housing either from an aesthetic point of view or just a genuine admiration for a well built home.

So, I’m thinking about becoming an inspector through the Texas State course approve by TREC. It’s a 450 hour course then the exam.

I’m wanting to get opinions from maybe some Texas inspectors on the state of the industry as well as anyone that has built a business from the ground up. I would at some point need to replace a 90k a year income. From everything I can tell it’s more than do-able but will take a little time. What are your thoughts on this?

Thanks and I look forward to becoming a contributing member.

Paul

You’re not originally from Texas though, are you?

To be a cowboy in Texas…

You have to start out by saying “Yall” when addressing a group of Texans. You must learn never to say “Hello”, but instead say “Howdy”. This will help your marketing abilities.

An advanced class on how to talk like a Texan will help you as well.

This is going to be a long process to learn how to talk like a Texan, but I will provide some links to help you. If you come to our location talking like a Yankee, you will have a hard time.

http://wilk4.com/humor/humorm205.htm
http://www.rice.edu/armadillo/Texas/talk.html