Infrared thermography Cost?

Just wondering how many of you include infrared in your inspections. Noticed some that offer it as a “free” service during general home inspection while others charge $150+ for the scan. Trying to figure out what is customary.

Jeanete,
I took an IR class and I’m camera shopping right now and my personal opinion is I must charge for it. After spending money for a certification and a camera I just can’t see offering for free.

If it ever comes down to a direct competitor giving IR away I would say perhaps that my fee based IR is more thorough and comes with a report. I can’t bring myself to offer free IR.

Free IR, free Recall Check, free donuts and coffee, how is this promoting the profession?

I totally agree that infrared scans must be charged separately but if making it part of your regular inspection increase your business by 15% then it become a marketing tool. Once I’m an inspector, business will start slow, I will most likely have to include it as part of my inspection to get the business going. I suppose it all comes down to how busy the inspector is.

In my area there are some who are including a free complete scan with each inspection and others are charging quite a bit extra. Wasn’t sure what to do myself, but I agree. Seems like a lot of work and expense ($1000 for scanner) just to give it away. However, in that it limits my liability by allowing me to better see something I might have missed, I am tempted to include it just for personal liability safety reasons. On the fence on this one, but if the market allows would love to just raise rates to cover a “free” scan. Curious, how much on average is everyone spending on scanner? Is there a preferred brand?

$136.00/hr.

And unlike Home Inspection Standard, that includes report writing extras not just out in the field.

Ya’ll ***** about the cost of good TI training and equipment.
Then you work for free.