Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR)

I am looking into Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) to offer another service including looking for underground oil tanks and utilities. The investment is very large (approx $11,000 USD) for base model.

Has anyone got into this business? In general, is there a large demand for this type of work? Thank you.

While I have no experience with radar locating devices, I can only speculate that the tool requires a fair amount of interpretation and training, like any diagnostic imager.

You want to devote that much time to an ancillary service? Are you going to start scanning a client’s yard looking for abandoned tanks? And then what do you do if you locate one? Are you going into the tank removal business too?

I’m sure your area has valid reasons to find and locate the underground fuel tanks for proper removal, but I can’t see that being an adjunct to home inspection, rather a stand alone venture that requires a large amount of resources such as time & money. (Which is fine if that’s a direction you want to go, but I’d focus on your core business first-home inspections.)

Dom.

I can’t see the average home owner paying enough for such a service to recoup such a large investment.

Probably more likely to find a buried pet than anything else.
Let sleeping dogs lie.

There are lots of other ancillary services to offer before GPR.
How about CPR? :wink:

Are you a geologist?

You know you can’t just shoot that thing off any time/where you please.