Can somebody tell me what this is

And should it be a concern? Is this designed to prevent the breaker from tripping? Googled breaker clips and found nothing helpful. Thanks.

Expect it a locking device so when breaker gets turned off they.
Can put on a lock so the breaker can not be turned on

I believe it is a lock out .

Roy is there not one designed to prevent accidental shutoff too?

Looks like Wayne is correct
On the breaker DANGER 1/4 diameter lock shackle required

Circuit breakers trip internally even if you try to hold the handle closed.

Yes, the concern is you should know this already.

I disagree

I am a retired industrial Electrician and retired home inspector .
I had never seen one of these .

I see no advantage in trying to embarrass a fellow Inspector who asked a reasonable question .

I only have seen the ones David posted , never seen the one THE op showed .

Whether you’ve seen one like that or not, it’s obvious what it is and what it’s supposed to do.

I sent a link answering his question.

I should hope he would read what he could not find on the internet, nor learned before performing a Home Inspection.

What more do I have to do? Kiss his *** and make him feel warm and fuzzy?

“We all had to start somewhere” is a bunch of BS when you consider the impact a home inspection has on the client’s largest investment.

Looks like those will lock the CB in either the OFF or ON position. I would guess that it’s being used for an appliance disconnecting means. This looks similar.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D-Homeline-Two-Pole-Circuit-Breaker-Handle-Padlock-Attachment-HOM2PALACP/100130184

Amen brother!

Maybe this shows that the training programs need to be improved so that everyone is better prepared and can accurately describe what they observe.