High Humidity in House

In a house that has <70% in the entire living space (976 sq.ft.). In the crawlspace, humidity >50%, there was some exposed earth under an addition and a leaking toilet, repairs have been made. The Attic is dry. Recommended gas furnace be checked out by the pros, it is fine. Dryer and bathrooms vent properly. No aquariums or animals of any kind. Did a complete thermal scan of the interior with no indications of moisture found Conditions at the time of the inspection was around 12 degrees with several inches fresh snow cover. Even though I am a newer NACHI member I have been inspecting houses for 14 years, certainly no rookie. Any ideas my fellow inspectors?

1st thing is to fill out your profile so we know where you are located.
Was there a vent free fireplace present?

My apologizes. Not trying to be elusive, I am newbie on the site. I checked my settings and all the fields are completed. Please tell me where or what I missed. I live and operate in south central Idaho.

Yes there is a converted wood to gas fireplace. It would not light during the inspection so I showed it as a defect recommended a pro and moved on with the inspection. The real estate agent told me the HVAC tech said it is in good working order. I went back and looked at my pictures and yes indeed it is vent free. So I would say you are spot on!

Pictures show the damper was closed at the time inspection but I did operate it. Another reason I take a couple of hundred pictures. Would it be reasonable to think that partially opening the damper would reduce the humidity?

Thanks again Mike!

Kenney Young CPI
R&C Inspections

On this page , go up to “control Panel” in the blue stripe, click on it and fill in your location.

Done. Thank you

How did you check the ambient humidity?