Condensate drain blowing cold air

Looked at a home built in 2006 with a Goodman Mfg. split system, gas furnace in attic, condenser outside.

The condensate drain line first had an upright piece of PVC, open on top & blowing cold air, then a P-trap. It ended into drain piping under a vanity sink.

Should the upright PVC be capped, or should the P-trap be before the upright PVC?

Thanks,
Linda

The P- trap was installed to prevent odors from the vanity drain line, being open will defeat the P-traps intended use, in the winter, the water in the p-trap will evaporate. It never should have been connected to the drain line, it should exit outside.

Actually I was told the p trap is there because the drain is hooked up to a pressurized system. The lack of a cap defeats the design. Cap it.

:wink:

Actually you both are right

Hi,

I’m not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I’ve seen the primary drain line’s P-trap with and without the cap in place. Obviously if the cap is not there, cold air will blow out of the top (just as it would through any hole in the casing). Generally though, I’ve seen has the cap in place, not glued.

Concerning the quote above (and again I’m not a pro), but the primary drain is supposed to drain into the home’s drainage system and not into a vent pipe (though I see this often enough). It is not supposed to drain outside. The secondary line may drain outside though.

I’ve not taken the time to look this up, so I’m flying solo with my memory. :smiley:

My .02 cents,
Bruce

The vent configuration described is normal. The vent is just that, a vent. The drain termination at the interior bathroom sink drain plumbing is normal as well. If the condensate vent is capped, you’ll begin to hear a popping suction sound at the sink drain termination. A certain amount of air loss at that vent is also acceptable.