garage wall fire resistance rating

Yes, my first post and it’s a question. I’ve been a builder/developer and GC for about 30 years and I think I know the codes pretty well. I always use 5/8 type X sheetrock on the garage side of any walls or ceilings common to living areas. I am completing a house that was foreclosed by the construction lender, and I’ve run in to a bit of a snag. The house does have a wall between the living space and gargage that consists of 1/2 sheetrock, 2x6 stud with fiberglass insulation, and 5/8 type X on the garage side. The local fire inspector (New Hampshire town) tells me that the wall in question must have TWO layers of 5/8 Type X on the garage side (local ordinance). Since the garage is already taped and painted, and the rated door installed, I’d rather not add a layer of sheetrock now. He did say that I could substitute any 1-hour rated assembly as long as I could show it was UL approved. I always thought the wall system I’ve always used is a 1 hour system, but where do I go to find it in writing to satisfy him?

BTW, I have read through several threads on this board, and I’m pretty impressed with the level of knowledge I’m seeing. I think from now on when one of my prospective buyers wants a pre-sale inspection I’ll insist that they use the services of a NACHI member.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Hello Joseph,

You can try www.municode.com and see if the New Hampshire town or county is listed. Hopefully this will save you a trip to find local AHJ’s requirements. The new Hampshire state building codes can be found at http://www.nh.gov/safety/boardsandcommissions/bldgcode/nhstatebldgcode.html

If you are familiar with the IRC, IFC, etc. codes then you probably already have an electronic version of that.

As you know the AHJ’s can make the codes more restrictive. Hopefully you will find your answer within one of these references.