Popcorn Ceiling

It has been brought to my attention by some real estates agents that several home inspectors in my area do not mention or report the possiblity that popcorn ceiling may contain asbestos. The asbestos content in popcorn ceiling is less than 5%. I currently put a blured in my reports as a possiblity but also state that this is beyond the scope of the inspection.
My question, how do you handle this item and what is your rational?
Thanks

Reference the textured ceilings with a notation that the material may contain asbestos if installed prior to 1977.

Provide a link to the EPA Website for your client to review.

http://www.epa.gov/asbestos/pubs/ashome.html#3

Company in the area that we use for Asbestos Testing / Remediation is:

http://www.eagleih.com/index.html

1 Like

I worked in the asbestos abatement industry for 15 years and have worked with this material. Any product containing >1% asbestos is classified as Asbestos Containing Material. If you’re not sure, defer to further evaluation.

This is another reason why I designed my 64-page manual to go along with my report… To keep my clients well informed.

Taken from my manual…

Today, the most common domestic materials (in your home) that may contain asbestos are…

Ø Furnace and Boiler blanket insulation
Ø Stove and Flue pipe insulation
Ø Tape at supply duct connections
Ø Hot water Pipe insulation
Ø Attic insulation (usually vermiculite)
Ø Artificial ashes and embers for use in gas-fired Fireplaces
Ø Roofing Shingles and Siding material
Ø Linoleum floor coverings (usually the 9”x 9” tiles)
Ø Plaster patching compounds
Ø Textured paints
Ø Parts of some pre-1979 appliances (e.g. toasters, clothes dryers, hair dryers)