Popcorn ceiling texture - when introduced?

How early was this stuff used? Did a 1931 house with it today but appeared to be hiding old cracks and deviations in the ceiling. The popcorn had no cracks however. So when was this stuff first used?

Peter,
Anecdotal evidence here, and probably not much help, but I lived in a house that was built around '68-'69 and it had it (we moved in when the house was new). All other houses in the neighborhood had it also.

I was an asbestos abatement contractor/supervisor from 1987-2000. Popcorn texture ceilings in older buildings were some of our abatement projects.:frowning: :frowning:

The application of sprayed-on asbestos-containing coatings was banned in 1978, but a lot of popcorn ceilings installed as late as 1986 contain asbestos in the mixture (because existing inventories were exempt from the 1978 ban.)

When* it was applied* to the ceiling would be a question, since the ceilings could have been modified many years after the original construction, including after 1986.

A small sample the size of a pencil eraser can be submitted to a lab for analysis for about $25. Then you know for sure what you’re dealing with.

Peter,
I am a drywall contractor to the south of you and we run into projects where people want the sprayed on acoustic (popcorn) removed. That finish would not be the original finish in a '31 house. It was probably sprayed on in an attempt to hide cracks in a plaster finish.
I met a guy named Kurt Hamiliton who claimed his father invented the acoustic spray finish. He said his father was a “spray-man” when he came up with the idea and then started his own line of taping and coating compounds. Hamilton Drywall Products still manufactures joint compounds and other wallboard related materials; Kurt’s brother now runs the company. But to answer your question, If I remember correctly Kurt Hamilton told me that his father invented the sprayed on acoustic finish in the late 1950’s.