Advice for a newcomer?

Hi everyone. As I near the end of my pre-licensure education, I was hoping to get some advice from some of you regarding a few things.

For a quick introduction on myself, my background is in civil engineering. I’ve been working in the business for 10 years, and it has grown stale. I’ve been job hunting for going on six months now because I am totally burned out with my current job. My degree is in Civil Engineering & Construction Technology, but I have a little bit of an architecture background as well. A good deal of the home inspector education thus far has been a big refresher on all the residential construction courses I took in college, so I have no doubt I can transition into this pretty easily.

What I’m really curious about is all the financial stuff.

Would you recommend getting a business loan to get started? I have some of the tools needed already, but there are some additional items I will need to acquire.

How long does it take to start earning a livable wage? What can I do, if anything, to accellerate that?

Any other advice for a newbie is also welcome. Thanks in advance.

Go through this MB and read, read, read! When you’ve had enough, read some more!!! Most any question you have will have already been answered 10 fold. Unfortunately, many don’t understand how to write a thread title to make it searchable, so you will waste many hours reading through useless and outdated threads with titles such as: What’s this? Need help! I retired the coffee can! I suggest you just skip over those threads as they’re usually poorly written and lacking details anyway. :wink:

http://www.inspectoroutlet.com/successful.aspx

or download the free version from our homepage at www.nachi.org

I updated my profile. I live in Nashville, TN.

I know what you mean about the search function on message boards being difficult to use. It doesn’t deter me, though!

Thanks for the response.

^ This.