Arizona inspectors

I would love to pick the brain of some of our Arizona home inspectors. Merry Christmas and thank you in advance.
I’ve been a home inspector in the Seattle area for the last twenty-five years. I have good credentials; but, I’m smart enough to look to my fellow inspectors who are in the local trenches every day for advice.

My youngest son is purchasing his first home, which is in the west valley. I am going to fly there and inspect it for him and his wife on the 26th.

1. I assume there are no statutory issues having a father inspect a home for his son, for free, in Arizona?
  2. What are some of the possible wood destroying insect problems in the Surprise area, drywood termites??
  3. Do banks/underwriters typically require a pest or termite inspection?
  4. The home was built in 2006 and is slab on grade. Would I expect to see a post tension slab or reinforced concrete?
  5. Are there known expansive soils in that area or any other common geological problems?

I encouraged my son to talk with the neighbors; given his gregarious personality that wasn’t a problem. Four nearby neighbors had very good things to say about the neighborhood, the builder and the HOA.

The home was on the market for about ten months which is red flag; my antennas are curiously twitching a little bit. It’s said to be due to being overpriced, according to the young inexperienced agent. They beat the seller (who is an investor) up pretty good on the price, so we’re looking at mostly a pass/fail inspection due to that. Due diligence is what I’m about right now.

The southwest is quite different from the northwest. Any heads-up or advice you can offer would be very much appreciated.

The property address is:
17337 N 185th Drive, Surprise AZ 85374

1. not sure… if there is no written report it is probably ok

2. Termites…

3. It depends, a termite inspection is $50 to $100

4.Post tension is quite common

1. yes… Surprise is way the frick out there…