Attic sickness?

I am a student inspector and just completed my 3rd mock inspection this past Tuesday, on a 40 year old home. I completed the attic inspection last. The insulation was blown-in cellulose and the hip and valley roof was in very good condition, appox 5 years old. There was evidence of previous, old water damage on the rafters and insulation. The 3200 sq ft home had no soffit vents and 2 static roof vents. I was in the attic for about 10 minutes and was not wearing a mask, my bad, I know.

By the time I got my ladder loaded up and was getting ready to leave, I was exhausted. I got home and had to take a nap. By late afternoon I felt like I was getting the flu; head-achy, light-headed, slightly nauseous, joints hurt, chills, etc. I felt quite a bit better the next morning but was still light-headed and tired. It was not until Thursday afternoon that I felt 100% again.

I have done some research and did not find where mold, dust, cellulose, or stagnant air can cause these symptoms, so perhaps just I caught a little bug coincident to the inspection. Obviously, I should have worn at least a paper mask (forgot to take it) and I have a full face respirator.

My questions are:

1. Has anyone experienced or heard of these kinds of symptoms after being in an attic, and
  2. Is a mask, and what type, is considered essential for an attic inspection?

Thanks!

Never a problem the mask goes on before the attic door opens .
A great site to visit and see many things .

Having a pest control/rodent/termite license for quite a long time, it may have been a dose of insecticide poisoning.

Back in the 80’s & early 90’s we used to “dust” the attic with
nasty stuff now outlawed, like chlordane.
When you traverse the attic it makes some particles airborne for accidental ingestion.
Your symptoms remind me of a dose I got once upon a time.
Stay safe my friend! :slight_smile: