attire

just getting started with my inspection business and was curious to see what everyone thinks about wearing jeans on an inspection. I work as a construction superintendent / project manager / estimator for an industrial/ commercial contractor and the whole industry is wearing Jeans with work boots and a collared shirt of some kind. I remember from class thinking it sounded a little absurd to wear “dress clothes” to crawl around an attic and/ or crawlspace. What’s everyone’s take on the khaki’s vs jeans? thanks for the input.

I will answer your question with a question…

How do you want you and your business to be perceived by your clients?

Professionals dress the part.

Jeff

I wear jeans all the time. Nice jeans, of course. I typically wear a nicely embroidered golf shirt. I’ve never received or perceived negative feedback. Avoid shorts.

Personally, I try to “dress up” unless I am inspecting a bank-owned property.

http://www.mycincinnatiohiohomeinspector.com

Dress up and get a tyvac suit for attics and crawl spaces!

If my doctor showed up in jeans and a tee shirt I may look for another doctor. If my mechanic showed up wearing office clothes I’d think him an idiot and probably find another mechanic. For all the crawling around we do I think a nice newer pair of jeans and a nice polo or button up shirt would be just fine. The look professional thing is a good point but do you want to look like a professional office type or a professional inspector type? Show up on a construction site in office attire could be construed as being a dummy who didn’t know any better or a show off. I’m all about dress for success but I may want to dress one way for higher end areas and another for more working class areas. Just dress nice and be yourself.
G

Its a personal preference, but also a business decision.

I find kahkis more comfortable than jeans, especially when it’s really hot. Coveralls go a long way to keeping them clean! :wink: