Most beneficial testing meters or tools to own

Hello
I am a beginning home inspector and I have a limited budget, (around $1200.00) to spend on testing meters and tools. I would like decent brands of meters such as CO , Moisture, Gas ,Volt meters. I would like to know what testing detectors are essintial to own

John

I use a survey master moisture meter , I would invest in a a AMP Probe, That would give you Volts Ohms, and so on. Co Monitor Here is what i use
http://www.toolexperts.com/uei-co71-carbon-monoxide-detective.html.Personaly i would think using a utra sonic leak dector will cover lots of different leaks, Refrigerant, Gas, Plus pretty handy listening to Electric Chatter. Comes with a transmitter so it also could be used to find leaking refrigerator gasket leaks.this is the one i use http://www.valuetesters.com/Amprobe-TMULD-300-Kit-Ultrasonic-Leak-Detector.php
you can PM if you want.

Spend the majority of your budget on a good moisture meter because you will be using it constatly. I suggest the Protimeter Survey Master which is around $500 give or take a few bucks. A carbon monoxide ,eter isn’t really going to give you much valuable information exect that there is elevated levels present in the room when you took the measurement. If you really want to measure CO, then break the budget and buy a combustion analysis meter. Gas sniffers are coming down in price and there are some cheaper ones out on the market that work just fine. I use a BOLO and it is able to pick up gas leaks that I can’t smell. Only buy a volt meter or AMP meter if you know how to use one and have an understanding of voltage and amperage measurement. Otherwise, stick to a simple receptacle tester. When you see something wrong, it needs repair by an electrician. No need to try to diagnose problems when you are first starting out. Buy a cheap Black and Decker cordless screwdriver. You will need that more than a volt meter.