New Career for Deployed Army Veteran

Hey Everyone,

Let me start off by saying that if this isn’t the correct discussion area for this post, please feel free to move it and yell at me. I looked around and didn’t really see a newbies or introduction section. And please excuse the long post.

I am a Colorado native and am 28 years old. I am in the Army Reserve and currently deployed overseas. I get back in about 8 months, and will be going back to school at CSU Fort Collins for Construction Management. I have some construction background, but not a lot in the housing area. I understand the basics of home construction, however, I still have A LOT to learn. I am handy, and used to own an aquarium design and maintenance company that I did really well with. It taught me a lot about dealing with wholesalers, dealers, subcontractors (reinforcing structures for large scale aquariums over 1000 gallons), retail and customer service. I also ran this business while in college and hit my break even point about 2 months into starting up. I also do site setup and construction in the Army; and have done home improvements on my parents farm for years.

I got interested in real estate about 2 years ago, when I was working for a mortgage fraud investigation firm. We did post close mortgage fraud analysis on the mortgage and appraisal side of the transaction. It was a fascinating position, but the 60 hours of office work drove me crazy. However, it served as an invaluable learning tool as far as real estate goes.

So I am here today. I have some hands-on experience, some managerial experience, some business owner experience and some real estate experience. In buying my first house, I found a friend who showed me just how little I knew about inspections. He was a building inspector for El Paso County Colorado, and his insights and guidance were priceless. He also opened my eyes to the inspection world and made me realize how much I enjoyed learning about it.