Construction Experience

Hi Folks,

I’ve been a ‘lurker’ here for a few weeks. Lots of good information. I have been working on a business plan for a home inspection business and wanted to ask those who know.

I do not have a construction background. I have been a software developer for 20 years and a small business owner (Kids Gym) for 7 years. I am very detail orientated and also accustom to solving big problems by breaking them down and following a plan etc.

Most of the people in home inspection appear to have construction experience. How important is this? is it important more for doing the job or in getting the job? And advice would be very helpful.

Thanks!

-Richard

There is no substitute for experience…
It not what you see but what you may be missing that could be of concern. Book training may teach you the technical aspects of the business but experience will give you the advantage.

Even with much experience there still is a very large % do not last three years .

It’s all up to you. I have no construction experience. Zero. I double my business every year and we should do over 600 inspections this year. No one has every asked me about my construction experience, and I am not sure it would have helped me one iota.

There are a lot of inspectors with some trades experience, because it makes the transition a little easier, but it certainly isn’t a prerequisite.

Actually, over the past three years, I turned down maybe a half dozen pre drywall, because I wasn’t confident. I may have taken them if I had construction experience.

I have extensive construction experience including management and sales.

Does it help? Yes without a doubt.
Is it essential? I don’t think so.

Most skills can be learned and some like attention to detail, integrity and the desire to succeed are difficult for some to grasp.

I’d say investigate the HI industry and decide if you are willing to make the commitment.