Education

I found some old posts with recommendations to online home inspector education. It seems AHIT may still be good. What are some thoughts on new and experienced inspectors regarding a good source. I intend to become an InterNACHI member. Also I have two prominent real estate agents willing to put me on their lists.

Thanks for your input!

Toby

Toby,

Man oh man, where do I start. There are so many good schools out there like AHIT and A better School of Building Inspection. I highly recommend both but to be honest with you nothing beats InterNACHI. Hands down it is the very best association and the education that you will get here is second to none. If you will look up in the upper right hand corner of each inspectors reply to your post, you will see the year that they joined. That should tell you something right there. If this wasn't the place to be, we wouldn't hang around. I have been a home inspector for 21 years now and an InterNACHI member for 7 of those years.  I wish that I would've joined a lot sooner but I just don't like to spend money. I can tell you with a Big Ole smile on my face that it has been the best money spent and return on investment that I ever have made. Putting the education and tons of benefits aside, InterNACHI is a place that we all call home. We love it here and you will too. I'm a blacksheep of the home inspection industry and I beat to my own drum but this is my home. Each member comes from different walks of life and we sometimes don't agree with each other. Sometimes we get corrected because none of us know everything but that's where we grow and learn. InterNACHI turns boys into men and newbies into seasoned vets. I laughed and cried with these guys and girls (they are my brothers and sisters) and I respect each and everyone of them to no end. It takes sacrifice and commitment to be a home inspector, I'm not going to lie to you. It's turned my hair grey and I've put on some weight over the years. When you get out there ins