Just getting started

I thought I would introduce myself and hopefully get some good advice from you guys that have been doing this for many years. I live in East Tennessee and have been a general contractor, subcontractor, handyman and house flipper for 25 years. I have a lot of experience and knowledge in the residential field but after reading this board I realize that I have many gaps in my education pertaining to inspections. I am just starting on my journey to becoming a home inspector and haven’t even joined NACHI yet but I intend to. After spending some time reading this board it becomes quite overwhelming when I see how much knowledge an experienced inspector has amassed. Right now I am trying to get my thoughts in order regarding testing for license, insurance, business structure, marketing, tools and broadening my education. I would appreciate any advice or encouragement you guys can provide.

Hey Don,

Welcome to the boards. I hope it will be a nice experience for you as it has been for myself. My advice would be is to join Internachi as soon as possible and begin your journey. I wouldn’t stop there. Work on a company name, logo, website etc. You may not be ready to start inspecting right away, but at least you’ll have it set up when you’re ready. Take care and good luck.

Hi Don:

Welcome to the zoo!:stuck_out_tongue:

Work your way through the hundreds of hours of free training available to members as a start.

Don’t believe the pitch from Home Inspection trainers ( if you look a outside training) that you will start out making $100K first year. Most don’t make it past the first year.

Good luck

Cheers