HI start up costs, concerns...

Good morning gentlemen,

In the interest of keeping things on point, I’ll try and be as brief as possible with first post on here.

I’m not exactly happy with my current job and am considering starting up my own HI business. I have been working outside sales for the past 6 years for a mid sized manufacturer here in Dallas. I enjoy the job, but the pay and the management structure leaves a lot to be desired. After quite a bit of research and revised spreadsheets I think I have pretty good idea of the start up costs and monthly expenses, but I’d like to get that verified by the experts.

Best I can tell between equipment, education, websites, and all of the other miscellaneous costs, I’m projecting between 6-8k and 6-7 months before I would be ready to inspect my first home.

Monthly expenses are a bit harder to project, but I’ve budgeted around 700 for gas, cards, cell, website, and other marketing. This might be high, but I’m trying to budget on the conservative side.

My biggest concern is how quickly I can get to the point where I’m inspecting 20 homes a month. With aggressive cold calling and my prior experience of working and managing a territory I’m not too concerned about long term success, but the initial hit and reduction of income is a bit concerning for the wife and I. I know the housing market in dfw is strong to quite strong, so I know there’s plenty of contracts to go around.

Ok that’s enough for now, any insight or constructive (or otherwise) criticism would be appreciated.

John it takes long hours and hard work to be successful in this business as of tomorrow I start my 17th year. I started this business 5 years before I retired from my day job worked evening and weekends until I was sure the income was there and I highly recommend that for every newbie unless you are indenpendly wealthy;-)