New Home Quality Inspector?

Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to Nachi and this is my first post. I’ve been studying the courses and passing them. I’ve been working as full time professional glassblower for the last 15 years (I’m 43). The market has changed dramatically and it’s time to find a way to make my art a side gig instead of my main income. I became interested in home inspections when a realtor friend of mine suggested it. My background with construction is really just from always being the landlords favorite tenant fixing stuff, helping friends with remodeling, building various glass studios over the years, and working on my own home.

This is a difficult job with so much to learn. I get it, really. There are a million things to learn, and I have a huge uphill battle ahead of me. The guy that did my home inspection made it look easy, but I get it. I am in Pennsylvania so I am currently working leads to get my foot in the door with a multi inspector company to try to get started in the business.

I was looking to see if any firms were officially hiring (seems only Pillar to Post, but is that a buy a franchise thing? more research needed) and came across an interesting job.

“New Home Quality Inspector” for 2m Quality LLC.

I would basically being doing an aesthetic home inspection on new construction homes. A few things are similar but mostly it’s about trim, nail pops, paint, drywall, etc. I’ve cold called my way into a phone interview and I’ve gone over all of their training materials.

I feel the pros are that since it’s part time it would help supplement my income ($75 for about 1hr inspection), and help me get into the industry a bit better than “Are you hiring? I’m a now starving artist…”

I went over the scheduling sheet they sent and the main con seems to be a ton of driving. Right now it’s about 6-7 inspections per inspector and they’re working everyday.