Identifying Age of Improvements

I have a question on resources for learning about the history of romex wiring and drywall, so that I can better identify the decade in which they were likely installed. Since this type of knowledge is something inspectors use every day, I thought this would be a good place to ask.

First, though, the saga that has led to this inquiry:

I am a residential designer in Portland Oregon, and I created permit drawings for a project that included adding a bath to an existing second story and removing some interior bearing walls. The drawings were done for a developer/house flipper who had just purchased the home. I have done hundreds of similar projects, and I have learned to never assume that any improvements to a home were legally permitted. On this project, the issue of whether the upstairs was legally habitable space was discussed with the owner at our first site meeting, and I was assured it was. As has happened before, when I took the plans into the City for submittal, I was told that the second level had never been approved as habitable space.

The home was built in 1906, and the second story improvements included ½” x 48” drywall, T&G subfloor with particle board on top that ran under the partitions, 3-1/2” x 1-1/2” studs, small aluminum sliding windows, fiberglass batt ceiling insulation, and wiring that was plastic sheathed NM 2-wire with ground, among other indicators that said to me that the improvements were from a late date. The electrical outlets included a mix of grounded and ungrounded plug types.

At permit submittal, I was told by the plans examiner, based on my description of the existing improvements, it was very unlikely that the attic could be grandfathered-in by way of a special inspection the City offers in such circumstances.