Inspection agreement question

Hi, I was just wondering if any of you use the NACHI agreement between inspector and client as is. Also, I am thinking about going to a printer and have them make a two or three copy version so client has to sign only once( like carbon copy ). Is this appropriate or should the client sign original copies for himself and me or maybe even for the clients realtor if they desire.
One more thing. The pre-inspection agreement. When I was an inspector a few years ago, we never had one of these. Is it the norm now ? I understand that it would probably give me a little added protection but it might also scare a potential client away. What is your opinion ? Thanks alot.

Bump ! :mrgreen:

James,

We just recently went over this. You may have missed it.
](http://www.nachi.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1603)

Yeah I saw that thread but I’m still a little unclear I guess. From reading that thread I get the idea that most of you do NOT use the agreement as it is written. I’m not an attorney and I don’t play one on TV so I guess I’ll just trust the good folks here at NACHI and use it as it is written.

I also did a search about the pre-inspection agreement and didn't find much.............oh wait, I forgot to check the archived threads. I'll be back in a flash........

James,

Have your attorney look over the NACHI agreement and add/edit his own lingo, as most of us have already done.

You do have an attorney, Right???

No attorney yet. I’m lucky my budget allows me to buy toilet paper.:shock: I’m doing the best I can at the moment. Hopefully when I start booking inspections I can get an attorney.

James:

The time to meet with the Business Attorney is Before you do an Inspection.

Business Incorporation, Fictitious Name, Insurance, Contracts, etc…