Inspection Notes

Hi,

Being new to the business I was curious how most of you save your information while doing the actual inspection? I assume you can write it, use a voice recorder, etc. I just purchased a copy of Home Inspector Pro, can you use the program on something like an ‘I Pad’ while doing the actual inspection?

I’m just curious how most inspectors do it. I have been studying for about 6 months now and wanted to start doing some mock inspections.

Thanks,

Kevin

Yes in short. Everyone does it a little different.

Some use their camera for notes, some use voice recorders, some record voice on their phone or camera. others carry a small PDA, tablet or netbook.

My company gives away note pads(with logo and phone and email address) they fit in my back pocket and I write notes on them if I need to. Usually I carry my computer to the garage and do not need to write much down except the A/C serial number.

Kevin
Home Inspector Pro is specifically tailored to using a tablet.
Thats why all the tabs and ability to use custom templates.

You need to ask Dom about the i pad as I do not use Apple products.
HIP does run on Mac.

How do you do it Bob?

A trusted assistant and Post-it notes.

Why does she have to be trusted??

Jeff

Kevin…

you better be absolutely sure you want to bring an Ipad to an inspection. You aren’t going to have it in your sight the entire time.

On HIP, You can set up the program to print out all the topics with no notes and use that as your note template.

Jeff

I save everything related to the inspection down to the notes of any phone conversations. I do most of the inspection on HIP but the yellow pad goes everywhere I go.

Using a tablet is not for everyone while on site as I personally find it distracting.
Now in days I just take the 1 second and switch to video if a on screen hand signal does not do enough to jog memory.

However that is not your question.
There is nothing special you need to do other than have a stylus handy.