Inspection Time

I am in my third year being a home inspector. We are still building our business and each year gets better I am expecting a great year. I am very proud of my work and try to be as thorough and accurate with my inspections as I can possibly be. I usually spend about four hours on a property, and deliver my reports the next day at noon.
We are selling our home, and today the buyers had there inspection.
The guy showed up at 9:00 with a ladder and a screwdriver. He spent a half hour talking with the buyers as we left. Two hours later at 11:00, we were told the inspection was over and the buyers were reviewing their report. When I mentioned to our realtor, our surprise that the inspector only spent two hours on the property, I was told, " That’s all it should take for an inspection and report".
My question… Is two hours for an inspection the norm?
If so I really need to streamline.

He is a minimalist. SOP required items are all that he / she inspects. I would bet the report doesn’t even include some of the mandatory items that WA inspectors must include. You would be surprised how many don’t pay attention to exactly what the State SOP actually requires.

So if you are in WA, it’s a good probability the house has a crawlspace. Even with a small house that can take 15-30 minutes if you are performing a halfway decent inspection. And then you have the required traverse of the attic as well. What type of home do you have?

Unless you are doing multiple inspections per day, there is absolutely no reason the report should not be delivered before you go to bed at night. I would never make someone wait until Noon the following day, even when I did 2 a day.

You should be happy that’s who inspected your home!

Two hours on site with report in hand is way too short in my opinion. As Alan said feel blessed.

And his fee was $199?

How big was your home?

2 hours is relative.

And like many things, “it depends”.