E & O Insurance

OK… I’m just starting out. I’m getting ready to start making decisions about insurance. What do you all have to say about E & O insurance and liability insurance? Is E & O necessary? Can liability insurance be purchased on a per-inspection basis? I believe E & O can. Being new to the business, I’m sure I will not be doing enough inspections per month to justify a monthly insurance cost. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks.

p.s. A question for Bob Elliott if you’re reading this (and I’m sure you are) how is Chicago for home inspection? My wife and I are considering moving to Chicago some time in the future and I’m curious about working in that city. Do you have to drive for hours to get to inspections? Do you omit certain areas? Is the business good? Etc, etc. Thanks.

Liability insurance is very cheap. I’m paying about $200 per year for $1,000,000 coverage. As for carrying E&O, I don’t. The last CE class I was at, the proctor took a poll and asked how many carried E&O. Out of approximately 95 people, only 9 carried it. Make sure that you are thorough with your inspections and have the ability to cover yourself ( PI agreement, lots and lots of pictures, documentation, etc.). Some inspectors view the coverage as a necessity, some view it as a target on their backs. You will get a lot of opinions on this matter. If you feel comfortable (money-wise), go for it. There are plans that allow you to pay on a per-inspection basis.

As for Chicago, there are still plenty of properties being bought here. Many inspections, as well as inspectors in the area. There are a lot of good INACHI guys that are around here. A lot of them willing to help out whenever possible, or to just B.S. I’m up in the northern burbs and it takes me about 90 minutes to get to the far southern burbs if needed. Downtown, figure on maybe 30-40 minutes.

Jeff