InterNACHI members, how useful would you find maps?

Hi all, I’m a researcher and technical writer for InterNACHI, and I have a question for all of you.

At InterNACHI, we’re always trying to come up with new educational resources for inspectors. One idea we had was to create, in addition to our graphics library (www.nachi.org/gallery) and our article library (www.nachi.org/articles) a MAP library. Why would inspectors need maps? Well, we’re not talking about road maps, we’re talking about thematic maps based on inspection-relavent themes. Of course, inspectors are really only concerned with conditions in their area rather than those far away, so it’s a leap to think that thematic maps will be an indispensible tool. Still, I’d like to throw it out there and see if anyone would find them useful. So let me know - useful, or useless? Take a look at a few examples and ideas I found:

• A map of radon across the USA

http://geology.about.com/library/bl/maps/usradonpotmap.gif

Or a detailed radon map of Virginia

http://www.altamontinspections.com/sitebuilder/images/NCRadonZoneMap-720x356.jpg

• A map of termite infestation across the USA

• Mold growth potential across the US

http://www.ebtron.com/Images/IAQ_Basics/USA_Map_Humidity.jpg

-A map that shows how different jurisdictions or states handle different building codes. For instance, one state may require AFCIs while another might not, and it could be useful for the traveling inspector to have a map that explains this difference.

I think you’d be on to something.

I would/do find them useful. Sometimes difficult to find them, when I need them.

Meth . . . Chinese drywall . . . Wood chips (insect-laden) from Katrina . . .

Keep going - Great work so far, Rob!

Some of them would be useful, but site the source on every one. Many are missleading…

Like the one above showing radon levels.