Looking to get into home inspection

Hello, My name is Stacey and I am looking to get into the home inspection business. I am a little hesitant because I am 34 and trying to start a new career that I am not quite sure about. I have looked at AHIT for there training. I was wondering if there were any other schools that you might recommend that would be better? Also if anyone has any pointers on someone just getting into the business would be appreciated. I do have 14 years of concrete construction experience, so I have been around construction all of my life. I have been working a plant job for about 3 years because of the economy. But I am not liking the plant job life. Also I have seen negative posts about AHITs inspection reporting software. If I do there training I will probably get the software with there package, but are there any more software programs that might be better? Thank you for any input and I just want to say I have been really impressed with the content on this website.

Join here
Get your education here
Find someone to ride with
Then run as fast as you can to another job ( just kidding)

Wayne, you trying to scare the dude?

Well it is partially true. ;):mrgreen:

All I can say is Good Luck.

LOL Marcel
No it is the best job around , till someone looses a eye then it is a game

At the age of 34 I might look into other options as it takes time to build inspections.
7 years and I am still trying to hit 200 (hopefully this year).

At my 30’s no way in hell I would be patient enough.

If you take AHIT’s course, you do not have to use their software. I did at first because I didn’t know any better. I now use Home Inspector Pro and love it.

I hear you there Bob.

And Wayne, hope all is good. :slight_smile:

Everthing is good Marcel, Busy though I droped by to bug Micheal lolol i was having with draws .:mrgreen: How ever 34 is a great time to start while you have the energy to go.