New To Home Inspection in Michigan

Hello,
I am new to the home inspection industry (currently taking a training course). I was just wondering if maybe somebody could give me some advice on the necessary tools needed to perform a complete inspection? The course describes the basic tools infrared thermometers, combustible gas detectors, circuit detectors, etc., But browsing around different online stores for “Home Inspection tools”, Im seeing a whole lot of tools and gauges I have never even heard of before, let alone know how and why their used. Maybe if somebody could just tell me what tools they commonly use it would be appreciated.

Also if there are any inspectors from Michigan:

I’ve researched the state’s licensing requirements, and as I understand it, there aren’t really any requirements other than registering with local county clerk. Is this correct???

What types and how much insurance would be recommended for liabilities as a home inspector in Michigan???

Any help would be greatly appreciated…Thank You.

Kyle Collins

The tools I used the most are a good flashlight, outlet tester, mirror on a telescopic extension, kneepads/elbow pads, 1/2 face resiprator.

Actually, I use two flashlights. The big one is the Streamlight Ultra Stinger for lighting up the attic and crawlspaces. The 2nd is a small Streamlight LED flashlight for general use.

For a ladder, it’s hard to beat a Little Giant. I’ve added a good set of levelers (not the LG ones, they’re worthless) to them to make them more functional.

A 12:1 IR thermometer, a non-contact voltage sensor, and set of cheap binoculars pretty much rounds out the most used tools.

For high tech tools, I have a TIFF combustible gas detector. I lost my Surveymaster moisture meter a while back.

Hi Kyle,