Working offshore and running a home inspection business

Hello all, I currently work in the oilfield on a 21 days on 21 days off schedule. I am beginning to work my way away from the oilfield and into home inspection. My main concern with my current schedule is marketing towards realtors. I am afraid of spending a lot of time promoting and introducing myself to them and only when they recommend me to a home buyer for me to be offshore Every time and they eventually stop recommending me. Has anyone else started their business under similar circumstances?

I have also been researching with program to get certified by. AHIT has my most interest this far but I have read most people don’t like the software they offer with the course. Any other recommendations? Also, is there a collection of post for the news guys? I have searched but have come up empty handed. Thanks.

I went through the AHIT training in 2012 and had no problems with it, learned a lot. Before taking the national exam, I was fortunate to become an InterNACHI member though. Taking the practice exam several times made me feel pretty comfortable with taking the real test.

I quit inspecting when I went to work for Baker Hughes full time in well planning (wanted to learn the directional side of the business). Later I transferred to the field to train as a Directional Driller (had a background in drilling our own wells, then owning a small drilling company previously, so not as far fetched of a transition as it sounds, lol). Of course, 2 1/2 months later as I was finishing up my training, got laid off. The oilfield is nice when you aren’t hitting those highs and lows!

I also will be coming a member of Internachi before I take the national exam. And yes, I was extremely fortunate to keep my job through the downturn, even though we took numerous pay cuts. I really don’t wanna have to go through one of these again.