Putting cosmetic items in your inspections

Since I am a newer inspector, I make it a point to document items like a obvious crack in the ceiling. I also go on to say that it appears to be minor, and it is for your information. Well the house I did a couple days ago was full of problems. 88 pages of pics and report. Of course the buyer did not buy, and the sellers agent was pissed, and she called to say I killed her deal, and went on to tell me that I should not have put cosmetic items in the report, like that was the reason it got bombed. The dangerous deck, electrical issues, and the leaking plumbing were ok, just not cosmetic comments. Do some other inspectors put cosmetic items or not?

Forget the realtor, for a moment.

“Cosmetic” items are not a part of my report, but are certainly a part of my inspection.

Drywall cracks have a cause. I am not necessarily looking or reporting on the cracks as much as I am seeking what is causing them. Same with driveways, sidewalks, etc.

An out of plumb doorway can be poor workmanship and “cosmetic” or can be a sign of a serious structural issue.

Let the “cosmetics” be the signals…not the targets…in your report.

When it comes to cosmetic issues I always tell my clients to notate any they wish in the report as it is their report and I only work for them.

I report what I see as an issue but they may decide that the big paint scratch in the back closet is an issue to them and it is their report.

I am happy to take a picture and insert it in as something they wish to discuss with the seller.

I may follow SOP but I am there to serve my client.

I use something like:

OBSERVATION: Crack was noted. Crack did not appear to be a significant structural issue.

There is a general comment in the interior wall covering section stating
“Minor cracks in the walls, unless noted in the room-by-room descriptions, are considered normal shrinkage or settling”