Questions on becoming a Home Inspector

Hello all!

First off, thank you in advance for your time and responses. I have recently decided to try and become a home inspector. I have been reading this forum and have some concerns, I am hoping to get some input. Some background on myself, I am a firefighter in the suburban Chicago-land area and have been for 8 years now. I have been reading that without a background in construction it will be hard to be successful in this line of work. I do not have years of experience in construction, but due to my full time job, I do have a very good grasp on residential and commercial building construction. I also worked with a plumber for 4 years prior to the fire service. I do occasionally roof houses in the summer, and have built a few decks (with a local company). Outside of that, I have a general knowledge of residential systems and how they operate. I do have a desire to learn this trade, but I do not want to get into this and not be a good Home Inspector. I understand that nothing takes the place of experience. My question is, do any of you know anyone who has got into this without the construction background? Can it be done and be done successfully?

Again, thank you in advance.

Tim

In my professional opinion perfoming home inspections is a full time job, generally more than a 40 hour week. It’s hard to be successful as a home inspector doing it as a part-time gig .

Thanks for the reply, but just to let you know. My schedule is 24 hours on and 48 hours off. With my shift work I only work 9 days (24 hour shifts) a month. That leaves me with 21 days a month of free time. I have been working a second job roughly 48 hours a week for the last 3 years. That job is coming to and end soon, and I happily will dedicate that time to this new trade. I am not looking to jump into this to make a quick buck without knowing what I am doing.

A part of inspecting is inspecting for fire safety issues, so I’d think you’d have that down.