Report Writing Efficiency

I’m a new inspector and have been surprised by how much time I am spending finishing up my report after I have performed the actual home inspection. Depending on the condition of the home I have spent as much as 2-3 hours back at the office finalizing the report. I was hoping to hear any suggestions on how to be most efficient with report writing to speed up my process. I am using Home Gauge software.

Thanks
Blake

I use ReportHost and have done reports onsite with a tablet. It worked great…if the tablet (el-cheapo) didn’t freeze most of the time.
I found that sometimes I will need to look things up and reference this and that anyways. I now still find it easy to do report at home. Give it time, you will become proficient. 20 minutes to half hour including looking things up is my norm. Others will give more ideas.

2-3 hours when starting out is pretty normal.

It does get easier with more experience.

I’m always thinking of new ways to reduce the time writing reports, but I always manage to fill that time with making my reports better. It’s an ongoing process.

True words.

After a few thousand reports, I’m still sometimes 1 1/2, sometimes 2.

An “easy” house with very few defects I can complete report in 45 minutes, but that is rare.

Problem is, when you’re experienced enough to shorten report time, then you’re experienced enough to find defects you didn’t find before, which will add to the report time. And, like Ian states, more time will be spent making reports better.

Good Luck!