What is the residential and commercial inspection market like? Good time to get in?

Hi everyone. I am currently a non- certified commercial asset inspector. I have been doing this for 7 years and I’m looking to move up the rung and become a certified commercial inspector. However, I was advised that it is better to start out as a residential home inspector before getting into commercial.

What is the market outlook like right now for these careers? Is this a good time to get in? I am in California- Sacramento/ San Francisco Bay Area. Should I start out as a home inspector, even though I’m not that interested in it? What are the best courses and certifications? How much investment, time and money, should I expect to put into my new business?

All the best

Really? You might want to find something that you really want to do.

Relying on market conditions isn’t the way to start a business…

Most commercial buildings are similar in a lot of ways to simply a very large house. The training for commercial inspections will refer or incorporate much of what you have already learned from home inspection training, and is not repeated throughout commercial training.

The commercial inspections are a “step up” from a routine home inspection, and it would be very difficult to “graduate” into commercial without doing home inspections.

Analogical humor would be you’d have to learn to operate on a determined amount of monkey’s brains before you could be a brain surgeon for people.

visit NACBI http://nacbi.org/

Dale Duffy is one of the best in the business

I’m like the others…why the heck would you want to do something you don’t want to do?

Juan correctly writes:

If you have to rely on a freak time in the market where demand for inspections outstrips the supply of inspectors, you will not succeed.

I am interested in Commercial Inspections. I am not so interested in home inspections. I thought I made that clear.

This is a home inspector organization :slight_smile: