Who all started inspecting part-time?

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster.
I have been looking at getting into home inspection for a little while now and have been trying to do as much research as I can (and this forum has been a major part of that already so thank you all who post here). I have been a machine operator for the past 11 years, and worked in several trade jobs before that (roofing, drywall, painting, framing) and have helped to build several houses from the ground up with family (father was a contractor, brother an electrician, plumber and concrete worker for cousins, so we tend to keep most trade work in the family instead of hiring out) along with many remodels, home extensions, roofs and the like. I have passed the online exam and I am looking at joining InterNACHI soon and completing the education and mock inspections. After I have done that I am planning on doing inspections part time while continuing to work my current job until I am at the point that I am getting enough work to go full time.
My question to those who started out part time is at what point did you feel secure enough in the amount of work coming in to make that switch? I have read several people say that starting part time it took them a couple of months to get their first jobs, after the first few they got referred a few more and it built up fairly quickly after the first 6-12 months. My feeling at this point is that I should expect losses and slow business the first year, hopefully break even and be on the upward move during the second and by the end of the third year I should be able to get the business through reputation and referrals along with marketing to be able to seriously look at going full time and if not, then look at whether this is the right career for me. Does that sound right or have other inspectors actual experiences been drastically different.