just starting out

First off just want to say hello to everyone here as I new to the site. Now on to my question. I am have my certification number and I am just starting out my inspection company. Is there any advise that you guys can give me on getting started and drumming up business? I have been in the building industry for around 10 years now in jobs ranging from design to sales of building materials. Any help that you guys can offer is greatly appreciated

Market, market and market. Education, education and education.

what types of marketing do you mean james? I was thinking about joining my local real estate chapter as an affiliate. I am working on a brochure and i was thinking about also printing out sample reports to put in my local realtor’s offices. any other ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Change your profile information Brock, to reflect where you are located. Many of the questions you have could be answered more appropriately if we know where you’re located.

Welcome Brock. And as Jeff mentioned, that would help. There are 100’s of Inspectors throughout the Country here at your fingertips to help you with anything you may encounter.
Good luck in you endeavors. :slight_smile:

Meanwhile we are working on a checklist to get you started…
http://www.nachi.org/forum/f2/any-volunteers-51333/
:slight_smile:

Spend a year learning the business before you do a home inspection or invest in any expensive equipment. Take some courses, read the message boards…look at it from all sides.

When you can honestly answer the question “Why should someone hire you INSTEAD OF your most experienced and qualified competitor?” and your answer is factually true and has nothing to do with your fee, you are ready to start a business.

Until then, you have nothing to offer anyone. Nothing to market…nothing to sell.

Is that what you did James?

My advice: begin part time. Don’t quit your day job. Business is slow sometimes, at least in SC. Many a day, I wake up unemployed.