Terrorists and Attorneys

Terrorism came as a helluva shock to many people, and left them feeling enraged and vengeful. I know how that feels, and anyone who has read my articles, and has an ear for tone, would instantly recognize that my finger is always on the trigger. The word “terrorism” comes from the Latin “terrere,” to frighten, and from the Greek “trein,” which means to be afraid, and that’s how I feel when I’m doing inspections. Why, not because I’m a lousy inspector but because there are wicked people in the world who put the pursuit of money above all else, and certainly above the pursuit of truth and justice? Let me illustrate what this could mean to the average inspector by relating a parable. Please notice that I said “parable,” because I don’t want to go through the dreary process of documenting a sequence of cases. An innocent inspector is named or dragged into a lawsuit. How he ends up in the lawsuit is immaterial. The point is, he is innocent, absolutely innocent, and under British common law not only would he be found innocent his accuser would have to bear the full costs of the lawsuit, including attorney’s fees and compensating the inspector. By the way, I’m not extolling the virtues of British common law, only pointing out the need for tort reform, and the need for common sense to prevail once more. Sorry, I digress, but let’s get back to the parable. The inspector is not like me, and doesn’t dream that he is tracking terrorists with his finger on the trigger of a British machine carbine. He‘s emotionally stable and secure in the knowledge that he has insurance, and even though he is totally innocent he shrugs it off. Then, he’s sued again. And, although he is totally innocent, his insurance company once again elects to settle for economic reasons, only this time the insurance company cancels his policy. He is forced to seek insurance elsewhere, and is obviously asked if he been sued before. Unlike some attorneys, he elects to tell the truth, t