to be or not to be

Hi all, newbie here. I was contacted by my cousin the other night as he caught wind that I was looking for some other career sources and he mentioned that home inspections would be a great thing to look into.
Some general questions though…
What kind (if any) insurances would I need to get started?
Is having family and friends/aquaintances in real estate a good thing to have?
Typically, what should your background be prior to inspections?
and of course, what can be expected for “income” from a venture like this?

I have a background in general construction and have been in the remodling business in the past. Currently I work as a building engineer in all aspects of maintenance for several commercial banking buildings.

any help/thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Brady, welcome.

Check your states licensing laws. Get some HI specific training. Check your local area for HI saturation. I was told once that the average HI claims 26,000 a year as income. Plan for a lean 18 months at least. Many HI’s carry E&O insurance, I do.

BK

Thanks Brian,
MN doesnt have any licensing laws. If I plan on going this route, even for supplemental income, I planned on taking course offered here in the cities through a place called “prosource”.
As far as errors and ommisions ins. what does that cost roughly? or does it depend on the area?

Between $2000 to $5000 a year depends. Some guys carry a bond, some are self insured. Read through other areas of the board as there is lot’s of info.

BK

there is a ton of info here thats for sure! I have read a bunch of threads following the “start up” of getting started, and I an hearing the same thing…tough business, tough to get things going, tough the first years, W/O schooling your done, need 40+ years of experience to really make it…