Under Attack

For many years, I resisted joining any organization, mostly because of the rumor-mongering, back-stabbing, and other equally distasteful activities that seem to accompany group behavior. However, I was left without choice when my insurance company insisted that I join one. Shortly thereafter, I joined NAHI on the recommendation of a fellow inspector, and in the interests of fellowship I began sending them articles about the threat that litigation poses to the inspection industry, which I documented with precision. They published one, and then steadfastly declined to publish any more, even though CREIA and other organizations were publishing them quite regularly. Perplexed, I told them that I didn’t want to waste their time and mine by submitting articles that were apparently being ignored. They replied, and informed me in so many words, that the level of diction in my articles was too high for their membership. As an English professor, I didn’t need to be informed about the level of diction from a NAHI staff member, and I certainly didn’t need to take more than a cursory glance at their magazine to realize how absurd their response was. In fact, I understood it to mean that they either didn’t have a very high regard for the group intelligence of their membership or didn’t want to publish anything that was critical of attorneys or the legal profession. Almost immediately, I resigned my membership in NAHI and joined NACHI, but I have never said anything negative about NAHI, or any other organization for that matter, nor would I ever. I have respected inspector/friends in several organizations.