Wood burning insert

Okay all you Canadian WEPP guys–here’s one for you. I inspected a home with the wood insert pictured. To prevent drafting in the original chimney (A stove pipe was installed with the insert), the installers stuffed insulation around the stove pipe, making direct contact with the pipe. I think this is a hazard, how about you?

Hell yes, Fiberglass insulation is combustable.

:-kThe MSDS for Owens-Corning says it isn’t, and glass has a melting point of around 2500 dF. Please explain.

(I’m a newb - just would like to know where you’re coming from)

2 inch clearance ,besides that I think I see a paper backing in the picture.

Fiberglass insulation isn’t flammable, but the formaldehyde glues that are used to create it can pose a significant hazard. Not only is off-gassing a problem, but the formaldehyde glues can create noxious fumes if your home ever catches on fire.

If it will ignite it is flammable. The insulation that is not is Roxul but even it can’t be used in this installation.
It is Non-combustible
Has a flame spread of zero
Smoke development of zero
And will shrink at 1200F(650 C)
FYI it is WETT Wood Energy Technical Training.

Thanx for our help! Will read the documents suggested.

This is not a fireplace insert but is considered a “hearth mount” of a regular wood stove.

I’m not too concerned about the fiberglass but of the overall installation- the fireplace damper should have been removed and replaced with a “blocker plate” with collars for the connection to the stove and the stainless steel liner required for this stype of installation :

1. Is there proper protection for any combustible floor within 18" of the loading door?

2. Is there a wood mantel that needs radiation protection for the protruding portion of the stove out side the facing brick?

3. Was the chimney swept and relined as mentioned above?

The flue connection looks wrong.
It must be a direct connection, that looks like a bend before the insulation liners.