When equipment fails

I am new to NACHI and studying for my certification. Here is a scenario that I need guidance in.

An inspector is with the client during the inspection of a newly constructed house. The inspector uses a tester to check the Arc Fault interrupter. Using the tester, it shows that the Arc Fault fails to trip in several rooms. The finding in the report is noted as such. The builder insists there is no problem with the wiring. It is an evolving situation and not resolved yet, but I have come to learn that this particular tester is discontinued due to failure to properly test.

If a testing device indicates a failed system, do you have a backup to confirm the accuracy of it, what is it and what is the liability of the inspector?

When in doubt use the test button on the device. That is the approved method of testing. You could trip the device with the test button and then go to the various locations to confirm that power has been removed where it should be, then reset the device and again confirm that power has been restored.

Yes… and also always have spare batteries , camera shoes and socks pants and shirt water soap and towel , Flash lights too.

Always use the test button and procedure supplied by the manufacturer of the listed device, not a third party tester or unsupported protocol.

I think some have missed the real question:

Yes, you need a back-up method to confirm or validate your findings, no matter what type of system you are testing. It could another tester or device (same brand, different brand, older version, newer version, etc.)

If the system you’re testing has an established testing protocol or Standard, then use it.

As to liability, once you report a finding you had better be sure of it’s accuracy, no matter what method you used to arrive at the conclusion.

Dom.