What famous line did Joe Namath say before Super Bowl III?

Anyone know?

He’d guarantee a win

“We’re going to win Sunday.”

Close. The quote made national newspaper headlines back then.

“We’re going to win on Sunday. I’ll guarantee it.”:slight_smile:

“We’re going to win Sunday. I guarantee it.”

what Marcel said

he didn’t say I’ll

Yes sir, I forgot the most important part; “I’ll guarantee it”

His coach knew they were going to win, too. He just wanted to do it quietly. :smiley:

Yep, that is the year I graduated Larry. :wink:

He is known for once boldly guaranteeing a Jets’ victory over Don Shula’s NFL Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl III (1969) and then making good on his prediction with a 16-7 win for the Jets.:slight_smile:

Vince Lombardi
“We’re going to win Sunday, I’ll guarantee you.”
Joe Namath
“We’re going to win Sunday. I guarantee it.”

“We’re going to win Sunday, I’ll guarantee you.”

I’m guessing “we re going to win sunday i guarantee it”

More recent concern was the coin toss and jacket choice at the recent superbowl appearance by the broncos, of which I’m a long time fan. Couldn’t help but to be superstitious, that the strange combination of the jacket and fumbled coin toss didn’t jinx the outcome. <-- Crackpot stuff I realize.

However, if your premise/message is a team effort in regards to the I’ll/we’ll/They’ll debate… there could be similarities in regards to the nachi members=players, team owner writing checks=InterNachi.

Correct. And it spewed confidence in his and his team’s abilities.

He didn’t say* “We’re going to win Sunday. And I’m offering a limited warranty in case we don’t.”

*In marketing, there is a big difference between Guarantee and Warranty. A guarantee is a promise of quality. A warranty is a document that covers failure.

I saw this one coming from a mile, or two, away. :roll:

guar·an·tee /ˌgarənˈtē/