NACHI E-Mail Policy

Because of recent discussions about access to NACHI-listed e-mail addresses, Nick and I have decided to define a new, clear policy on who we can share NACHI members’ contact info with. To help define this policy, I will be posting a few polls over the coming weeks. Here’s the first question.

I vote YES. Let ME decide what news sources within my industry I wish to opt-out of. Remember, vendors include educators and if Greg Bell is having a class down the street in my neighborhood… I want to know. If PVS is offering a new NACHI version… I want to know. If an E&O insurance company launches a NACHI discount… I want to know.

I vote YES. If I was an inspector I would think that I would want ALL the inspection-related information from all the inspection vendors out there. Then I’LL decide which ones I want to opt out of (even if I have to delete some repetitive emails, opt-out, or block incoming emails from sources I’m not interested in).

I agree with Nick, vendors can send me their ads, if I don’t like them I hit my Junk Button just like I did with the Save My License ads, which unlike true SPAM uses only two addresses. I just went into my Junk Files and used their Opt out Buttons to see if they work, and I do get their e-mails on both of my Email Accounts, my Bitch is that they use “Nachci” and “NACHI Membership” in their address, along with the NACHI LOGO in their ads.

Nick should require all NACHI Affilates and Vendors to quit using NACHI and NACHI Membership in their addresses.

At least these “ads” are easier to get rid of than “JUnk” snail mail

How hard would it be to add an opt out feature in our profile so that we can decide individually? Why should it be all or nothing? Like Nick just said “Let ME decide”.

Great Idea Neil

It’s not like I want you to get spammed to death but I want NACHI members to be aware of everything new that might give you all a competitive advantage in the market place.