Now what? :)

Hello-
My name is David Whisenhunt and I just passed my course for becoming a home inspector in Oklahoma.
I know my next step is to send my application in to the state and get set up for the testing.
My question is, what else can I be doing in the meantime? Should I start setting up a website, get business cards and brochures, tools etc now or wait until I pass the state exam.
And if I need to wait should I continue taking courses and getting certified for ancillary services.
This was a great course and I would like to be able to be a full service inspection company

Thank you for your help

Unless you have experience already I suggest you go work for an established inspector to learn for a bit. Good Luck.

Thanks for the reply Michael,
I have been a general contractor for residential and commercial construction for 35 years including the business side, the project management side and even hands on. I have plenty of experience.
What I am asking is would it be beneficial to create my marketing side at this point or wait until I have the state license in hand?

David, welcome. Please fill out your profile. It is up to "Control Panel”, in the blue stripe, at the top of this page. Click on it.

While an InterNACHI member, you, get more accurate answers associated with your area.

If your Ready to pull the trigger just set it up as if you had your license. Just remember though you only get one chance to make a first impression, if you advertise and are not able to produce???

Thank you for the responses and yes I will get my profile set up, thank you.
Charley: An OK Inspector…awesome.
Your answer is exactly what I needed. Your right, I can only advertise the areas that I am certified for which right now is the basic home inspection, which is ok with me as I am semi-retired. Do you happen to have a preference on reporting software or do you use it?